Back to All Events

Geoff Achison 'Sovereign Town' Launch

  • The Skylark Room 351 Glenfern Road Upwey, VIC, 3158 Australia (map)


$20 presale, $25 at the door

Veteran Aussie blues-roots artist Geoff Achison is proud to announce the imminent release of his latest recording ‘Sovereign Town’ 
In late 2017 Geoff teamed up with a 4-piece combo in Ballarat, Victoria to work on some acoustic tunes. The initial rehearsals sounded promising and so a local recording studio was sought. They settled on Ric Formosa’s Pilgrimage Studio not far from the heart of town and tracking began in January of 2018. 

Adopting more intimate and organic approach than past releases, Geoff led the band with his acoustic guitar, asking for emphasis on the ‘song’. The project boasts 11 new compositions plus a new arrangement of Ben Harper’s great song ‘Walk Away’.  

The studio band features Andy Fry on upright bass, Dave Clark on drums and Liam Kealy on Hammond organ. Vocalist John McNamara dropped by singing harmony on three tracks with Geoff also adding a variety of overdubbed guitar parts.  

Produced by Achison and Formosa, the sessions were squeezed in between Geoff’s ongoing tour schedule and the final studio performances were finally captured in mid-May. The official release is set for August 25th distributed worldwide through Landslide Records USA.